A New Year

I’m not really sure where to begin to be honest. I suppose I’ve found myself here because it is time that I actively put my love of writing, reading, and literary creativity into something useful. I finished my MA in English Literature towards the end of 2018 and since then I’ve felt directionless. I find my brain is constantly teeming with thoughts, anxieties and reminiscences and I’d like a place to centre these things. Arrange whatever pieces come your way is one of my most favourite quotes of Virginia Woolf’s, and it’s because it encompasses how life and moments presents themselves to us- as layers and fragments of things that we are tasked with ordering. I hope my blog will be a place where I can begin to order myself, and if like me you’re in need of doing some sorting, I hope this blog is both useful and entertaining for you.

I will also be uploading some of my creative writing pieces on here, among these is a book that I began writing about a year ago, and I’m going to upload chunks of it on here as I make progress with it. I’d be interested to read your comments and see what you make of the story and characters. 🙂

So, today is the first day of the new year. It is currently the 1st of January 2021 and after a significant phone call with my sister (who quite accurately decided I was in need of big sistering), I now feel some of the fog that’s been in my head for the past couple of years beginning to lift. Normally I would consider trying to fix everything at once, which would inevitably overwhelm me, and then of course discourage me from doing anything at all. But I don’t want to do that anymore, I simply want to go forwards.

So let’s have a toast to going forwards. 😉

Goodnight musers,

#firstblogpost #zerotohero #anewroadandanewbeginning

Leave a Comment